a journey with journals

I started writing journals since I was eight. My entries were most of the time one-liners. Sometimes two. Occasionally three.

Papa brought chicken barbeque!
Mama told me to do my bed.
I played chess with my grandpa again. I still lost!
My grandparents brought me to a farm far away from home…
I’m happy to have a new sister! She’s very small.
Bones is a dog we all love. I don’t like dogs. But I love Bones.

When I reached my teens, my writing evolved into stories. What happened during the day. The different school events. Who my friends were. Who’s relevant and who’s not.

Apart from the detailed chronicles about real life and real people, I also wrote short stories about anything that I imagined to happen and composed poems expressing what I felt. I even attempted to write a novel about something I was scared about.

Then I thought that I could probably become a book author.

Yet life didn’t lead me to that direction – or not yet.

I neither took communications nor any writing courses. I was in business school.

When I started working, I was doing reports, plans and proposals – not composing short stories, poetry or novels. I was crafting strategies and presenting results – not writing fables. My works landed on the desks of CEOs, government agency leaders, project reviewers, and international consultants and funding agencies. Not on the hands of book lovers.

My chronicles changed into tables of deadlines, meeting schedules, list of presentations to do and records of targets to deliver.

But I never stopped doing my journals.

Publishing a Book 101 is an interesting blog that I’m following. I don’t know where this leads me but my writing journey is definitely exciting!

One thought on “a journey with journals

  1. Pingback: Day 9: Nine Loves « MY RANDOM NOTIONS

Leave a comment